Crazy and Clomid… both with a capital C.

Today is day 3 on the Clomid. I’ve heard some stories about Clomid, my friends. Stories of aching, nausea, pain, general physical discomfort, and stories about mood swings. People react differently to this drug, as with any drug I suppose. For me? I have had almost no side effects (knock on wood), except one. One horrendous side effect.

Yesterday, day two, was a perfectly good day. Husb was out shooting with a bunch of doctors. I was perfectly happy with this, seeing as how it was his first “guy day” in a really, really, really long time. I wrote some emails, perused the blogs, and generally enjoyed my time at home alone. Yet, as the day went on, I started to feel like crying. When Husb got home, I full on burst into tears. I couldn’t stop them. They just kept flowing out of my eyeballs. Husb was concerned and kept trying to figure out what I’m sad about- is it because he was gone all day? Is it because I just want to be pregs? Is it because I’m tired? Is it because I don’t feel well? and I just kept telling him, “Nothing. There is seriously no thought that spurred this.” And there wasn’t. The Clomid did it. I’m sure of this.

Later on, at dinner, we were chatting about whatever and I said something about taking the Clomid that morning, and that’s when Husb realized what was going on. He paused, looked at me and said, “I thought you weren’t taking those yet.”

“Yes, Husb, I am. Start on CD 3. That was yesterday.”

“Ohhhhh. {slowly begins nodding head in understanding}”

“Does that explain some things?”

“Yes. Yes it does.”

Folks, I don’t know if I can take breaking down into tears and sadness once a day while I’m on this drug. I hope it isn’t a recurring event in my life.

Also, and I don’t know if this is a side effect or not, but I haven’t been sleeping well. Last night, I could fall asleep to save my life, and when I did I woke up every time I changed position. I’m exhausted today. Anyone have a similar experience?

6 thoughts on “Crazy and Clomid… both with a capital C.

  1. I never had any side effects while on the 50 mg dosage but when I got bumped up to the 100 mg dosage, my emotions were all over the place. Thank goodness Clomid is only a 5 day thing!

  2. I cried a lot on Clomid. I cried at commercials. Everything was Just. SO. Beautiful. (or else so depressing) I don’t know about the sleep problems but I definitely remember my emotional rollercoaster – that and when I had to do the injection thing I cried for an hour before I was able to do it.

  3. Ugh…. the crying would not be fun! Thankfully you aren’t on clomid for too long and hopefully when you go off the crying stops!! *Hugs* to you!

  4. I am always extra emotional (and bitchy) on Clomid. I cry at commericals, cry when trying to decide what to eat for dinner…I even cried once because my cat “stole my spot on the couch.” Ugh. Horrible side effect. Oh the things we go through to make a baby!

    On the not sleeping front – I never sleep well on the big C, but thats usually due to hot flashes. Do you find yourself hot or sweating and kicking the covers off? Also could be vivid dreams – yet another side effect. If only I could vividly dream of the winning lottery numbers!

    Fingers crossed for you this cycle! I can’t wait to catch up on your blog. I love your writing style – so glad you found me on ICLW!

  5. I didn’t sleep great while I was on the clomid. Just another one of those things to add to the daytime crazy. Only two more days to go!! You can do it!!

  6. I had low patience and lots of tears on the half dose of Clomid. Now I am on the 50mg dose I am suffering from bloating, stomach and abdominal pain. The nurse told me this morning that all I can do is rest and drink lots of water. Last week was very teary, a friend’s father passed away from cancer and another friend’s dog died.

Leave a Reply

