Coming to terms with it

My period never came on it’s own. In other words, my ovaries still don’t work.

But you know what?

It’s fine. I mourned this cycle and I’m ready to move on. It wouldn’t be fair, really, for me to have it easy on my first round and get it right, when so many others have had to deal with so much more. So today I pick up round two of meds, begin taking progesterone to induce the period, and start over. The doctor didn’t change the dosage of anything for this round, but they did ask me if I want to do what I guess is called the “Clomid challenge.” I said yes. Basically, I will do everything like last time: 2000mg Met. every day, Clomid days 3-7, BUT they will do blood work on CD 3, and blood work again on CD 10 to see if my body is responding the Clomid appropriately. If it’s not, then we will do something different next cycle, I believe.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do this time. I don’t know if I’m going to temp throughout this cycle. I know for sure I won’t be using any OPKs. They NEVER gave me a positive anyway. All in all, I feel kind of ehhhhhh about everything. BUT, I know for sure I’m going to temp when I am taking the progesterone. “Why?,” you ask? “That’s obviously a false reading since your overriding your body with ingested hormones.” Exactly. I want to know exactly what my temperature does when the progesterone is present in my body. I need to see how high it goes, and what it does. I’ve clearly never had a real temperature rise because my body hasn’t ovulated since I’ve been tracking this stuff, so I see this as an opportunity to observe what my body should be doing if it were to ovulate. What should those temperatures be if my body was producing progesterone? And, even more, does my body even respond, temperature-wise, to progesterone (as some women’s temps actually don’t change, even with the progesterone present)? It’s kind of like my own personal experiment.

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope your week is full of good news and good times. : )

4 thoughts on “Coming to terms with it

  1. I am so sorry. The clomid challenge test will measure your FSH on day 3 and again on day 10….the number they give you on day 10 is very important. This is a measure of your ovarian reserve….anything higher than a 10 on the day 10 FSH level would indicate that you have some diminishing reserve. Diminishing reserve is usually what happens when people get towards menopause….but it can happen earlier due to a wide range of factors. Knowing where you stand on this will help you decide how to proceed from here (and if it is worth doing more rounds of clomid). When you have taken Provera (or another drug to induce your period) do you get a red, itchy, ugly rash on your chest/shoulders? And if so, how do you get rid of it? Thanks!

    • Hey thanks for the info! And, no, I don’t get said rash when I’m on provera. You might be having a mild allergic reaction. Have you considered talking to your doctor about it, and asking them if there are any creams or anything you can put on it?

Leave a Reply

